The Perfect Poncho

I tried on the worst poncho the other day. Thank God I was in the dressing room because it really was a terrible outfit. Maybe it was the color that didn’t suit me, but regardless I looked horrifying; the uncomfortable fabric not adding an extra perk. Even though I didn’t visit this store with purchasing a new poncho at the top of my priority list, I ended up wishing I would’ve liked the one that the sales girl suggested for me. The poncho (and I was never talking about the rain kind) is a chic style that feels just warm enough indoors during the fall and winter. It can be a total non-tribal look (sorry?) that is as stylish as it is easy to wear. A few of the fall 2011 pieces that I won’t be able to live without…but will have to until I find a paying job…

I love the plaid print on this casual A.P.C. wool poncho. Layered with a long-sleeve shirt in whatever color of choice, this poncho doesn’t look overwhelming on petite figures. It would be the perfect comfortable look with Vince’s heather charcoal knit leggings and Charlotte Ronson’s MJ Flat Suede boot, or a sleeker outfit with Stuart Weitzman’s chocolate-brown Vim boot.


I fell in the floor (not really but wanted to) over this Yves Saint Laurent leopard poncho, an amazing match with a dark denim skinny jean, Rachel Zoe’s Audrey Stretch Suede Platform Ankle Boots and Rebecca Minkoff’s blood-red Covet Satchel.

Wearing a patterned poncho sometimes seems too much and too loud, especially if you’re not going anywhere important. Plenty of ponchos are subtle by embracing solid colors, simple stripes, and tasteful fur detailing. A few of my favorite ponchos that favor a more simplistic look, perhaps as perfect as it can get for my casual (lazy) wardrobe-


What do you think?

