Mascara Maven

Though I always bring along a book or some type of trash magazine to read, I find myself staring at all of the people on the Metro instead. It’s such a bad habit – staring – but I just can’t help it. Not that I look hot to trot while taking public transportation, but I see some really over-the-top hot messes. I couldn’t stop watching a woman “freshen up” her mascara without a mirror the other morning. Is it not a well-known fact that mirrors are vitally important to the successful application of makeup? Add a bumpy train ride into the mix and it leads to one big disaster on your face. Apparently some ladies (and men too, who knows) need to learn this helpful little hint.

Mascara is part of my daily makeup routine, whether I’m wearing a lot or only a little. I’ve tried a variety of brands, colors, and types without ever being able to settle on one favorite. In fact, I have a few top picks. It’s hard to know at the time of purchase when you will want to go for fuller lashes, longer ones, or simply a more natural look. Such a hard life. However, I always choose the waterproof option – it’s a must.

E! News (another one of my amazing nightly TV choices) featured celebrities with BIG lashes last night. Not too big, though, for lashes start to get spidery and gross-looking at a point. It draws a fine line, but if you apply your mascara just right you’ll achieve star-worthy lashes in no time.



Mascaras that I love:

DiorShow Mascara

“…delivers ultra-glam, catwalk-length lashes” – Sephora

Lancôme Définicils

“…provides the ultimate in shaping and separation” – Sephora

Bobbi Brown No Smudge Mascara

“…defines, curls, and lengthens lashes without smudging, clumping, or flaking” – Sephora

Maybelline Great Lash

“America’s favorite mascara” – Maybelline

 
 
…But Wait!
 
Don’t forget eye makeup remover! Avoid “raccoon eyes,” aka dark circles from wearing mascara, by thoroughly taking off your eye makeup at the end of the day (or night).

Lancôme BI-FACIL - Double-Action Eye Makeup Remover


Bobbi Brown Instant Long-Wear Makeup Remover


NARS Eye Makeup Remover

What do you think?

