From Shit to Chic

Bad hair day? I have those a lot. In fact, I feel like it’s a regular occurrence in my life. No matter how late you oversleep, it’s easy to achieve a quick style fix on days when your hair looks less-than-perfect.

The Top Knot

This carefree style is easy to create and works well for both formal and casual occasions. I personally prefer to sport it when I’m too lazy to wash my hair. Just being honest, but this is probably better than me trying to wear it any other way. The top knot has the power to make any hot mess of hair look somewhat polished.

To start, flip your head over and brush out your hair. Secure a high pony tail and wrap the hair around itself to form a bun. Anchor the front, back, sides, and any loose ends with bobby pins. I like to set my top bun with Aveda’s Air Control Hairspray, which is super flexible and long-lasting.

Aveda Air Control Hairspray

The Pony Tail

If buns are just too difficult for you, then ponytails might be your simple savior for bad hair days. Whether you have short hair or long locks, this style always looks classic and put-together. Side-pony, curled-pony, high-pony, low-pony…whatever, they all look great.


To be pony-perfect, I use Aveda’s Brilliant Emollient Finishing Gloss. It easily smooths down stray hairs and adds a pretty, glossy shine.

Be sure to use hairspray to set the look of any style. Another fabulous option is Bumble and Bumble’s “Does It All Styling Spray.”

Hair Emergency?

If your hair is on the verge of being past help, treat it with a healthy dose of dry shampoo. My friends are weirdly obsessed with Batiste and will swear that it cures all dirty hair problems. You can’t beat the $8 price tag, either. I also like Got2B Fat-tastic Fresh & Full Dry Shampoo, which retails for even less at $6.

Keep your mane in check, ladies!

One response to “From Shit to Chic

  1. Pingback: Holla for Headbands « theflossylife·

What do you think?

