Toughen Up Your Wardrobe

To relieve myself from a potential reality TV overload, I recently picked myself up from the couch to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. A huge fan of the book trilogy on which the film was based, I’ve been excited about the American adaptation since I saw the first preview. Throughout the movie, I found myself completely fascinated with not only the story itself, but also Lisbeth Salander’s edgy fashion. After the almost three-hour film was finished, I felt like changing into all leather and running around like a badass myself.

Actress Rooney Mara plays the impressive role of Lisbeth, the film’s genius but troubled heroine. Though it seems only Lisbeth can pull off such extreme fashion, I’m still intrigued by her utilitarian-inspired look. Dark colors, leather, and slouchy styles seem prominent among Lisbeth’s featured wardrobe. H&M has even brought a taste of her style into their stores, featuring a 30-piece collection contrived by the film’s own costume designer, Trish Summerville.

I would look absolutely ridiculous if I tried to copy any full outfit from Lisbeth Salander’s closet. However, I wouldn’t mind to add a few pieces, more specifically a nice black leather jacket. Or a great combat boot…

Toughen up your wardrobe with pieces that, if she cared, would definitely be Salander-approved.

$575 True Religion Leather Lace Up Biker Jacket

$1795 Doo.Ri Trench Coat


$896 J Brand Leather Skinny Pants


$84 Topshop Sleveless PU Biker Jacket

$595 Alexander Wang Savannah Woven Boots


$258 Frye Jayden Roper Bootie


$12 Topshop Arrow Curl Ear Tunnel Earring


$850 Alexander Wang Marti Backpack

What do you think?

