Gay Men Don’t Get Fat

When I found out that Simon Doonan was making an appearance in DC, I had to go. I die for any type of celebrity, especially one that’s been on Bravo. To further his repertoire, Doonan has been a guest star on Gossip Girl and America’s Next Top Model, and he headed the White House’s holiday decorating plans in 2009. Oh, and he’s designed Barney’s window displays for years. Kind of a big deal.

The party for Doonan’s newest book, Gay Men Don’t Get Fat, was held at the posh and stylish W Hotel last night, which couldn’t have been a more perfect venue. Totally fit for the many style queens and kings that attended.

Before the event began, my friend and I visited the hotel’s P.O.V. Roof Terrace for cocktails. The city views were beautiful, not to mention the perfectly mild temperature outside.

The doors to Doonan’s event opened at 7 PM to quite the crowd. Pink, sequins, and flowers were everywhere, along with some absolutely fabulous fashion and style. No doubt I spotted some gorgeous shoes, handbags, and fur.

The drinks were just as delicious at the event as on the rooftop bar. I enjoyed the flavorful “Skinny Boy” cocktail, which hinted of raspberry and lime. Dare I say it was better than any Skinny Girl cocktail I’ve tasted?

Thankfully, the line was not long to meet Mr. Doonan himself. His book was available for purchase beforehand, complete with a vibrant pink bookmark. Our small wait was eased with fun party music, including some of my new favorite pop tunes. Not gonna lie, I do like Katy Perry and Selena Gomez.

In person, Doonan was effortlessly fabulous and chic. He was kind enough to spend a hot minute with everyone, which included me flashing a picture of my fabulous frenchies during our time together. Though he dedicated my copy to them, I’m not sure he was as amused with their stunning photograph. I’m okay with another person in the world thinking I’m a freak.

We left with two signed copies, a Skinny Boy buzz, and “Love You Like a Love Song” playing in our heads. A fun night had by all.

To read Simon Doonan’s insightful thoughts on DC style, click here!

One response to “Gay Men Don’t Get Fat

What do you think?

