Love at First Smell

It’s hard to find a signature scent when there are so many amazing options offered at every cosmetics counter you visit. Whether it’s Chloé, Bond No.9’s Fire Island, or Marc Jacobs Daisy, I enjoy switching up my perfume on a regular basis. Certain newfound scents earn a secure spot on my vanity, while others fail and instead instigate the beginning symptoms of a migraine. Maybe that’s why some people don’t find fragrance shopping fun.

It was love at first smell with Jo Malone, a brand I discovered while once sifting through my Mother’s cosmetics. I snatched her Grapefruit cologne as soon as I sprayed it, and eventually it became the first fragrance I actually stuck to wearing. Though the Grapefruit never got old, I branched out and experimented with other Jo Malone scents. All of her fragrances are mixable, which allows you to create signature scents of your own.

My favorites from Jo Malone include Orange Blossom, Lime Basil & Mandarin, Red Roses, and, of course, Grapefruit. While I typically stick to light floral scents, the Vanilla & Anise also smells fantastic. In addition to her well-known colognes, Jo Malone offers signature scents for the home and fabulous bath products, too.

I became obsessed with Jo Malone all over again after reading about her London Blooms collection on Washingtonian’s Style blog. The trio of limited-edition scents, named Iris & Lady Moore, White Lilac & Rhubarb, and Peony & Moss, are inspired by the flowers of beautiful British gardens. Though the names sound super-prestigious and royal, they sadly don’t give me the slightest hint of how they actually smell. I guess I’ll have to make a trip to my local Jo Malone counter to test them out for myself.

Jo Malone London Blooms Collection

Check out Jo Malone scents at your local Neiman Marcus during their Beauty Week, which lasts today through March 4. Priced anywhere from $55-$110, Jo Malone’s fragrances are realistically a bit pricey. Splurge by spending $100 or more at Neiman’s and receive a tote filled with brand-new cosmetics samples. Even though Jo Malone products are totally worth the price, free stuff will make you feel better about shelling out the big bucks for new perfume.

What do you think?

