The Oscars Edition

Oh, Oscars. What would I have done on a Sunday night without you? Probably nothing, but you offered me a TV choice that was out of the ordinary. You also gave me an even better excuse to drink red wine, eat delicious mac and cheese cups, and crucify celebrities’ red carpet choices with friends. In my delusions, I am my own awards show fashion commentator.

While I actually did watch the awards presentation, I’m like many who are only interested in the high fashion. The trends that stood out on this year’s red carpet included intricate beaded gowns, delicately colored frocks, and, as always, stunning jewels. I’m not typically a fan of white gowns, but most who donned this ethereal color knocked it out of the park.

As one of the first stars I spotted on E! coverage of the carpet, Milla Jovovich looked absolutely stunning in Elie Saab. The beading on Milla’s gown is gorgeous, and I love the old-Hollywood glamour of her hair. Though it’s a classic pick, the one-shoulder gives the dress a bit of an edge.

Milla Jovovich in Elie Saab

It could be considered a miss and probably will be by some, but I think Shailene Woodley of The Descendants looked like a hit last night. I’m dying for this 70’s-inspired look, from the high neckline to the dress’ simple details. It was a totally fashion-forward pick and just so chic for a 20 year old.

Shailene Woodley in Valentino Couture

What a nice change to see Rooney Mara in a color other than black. She stepped out of her comfort zone in white, but still kept true to her simple style with this stunning Givenchy pick.

Rooney Mara in Givenchy

Gwyneth Paltrow can do no wrong, and she proved her fashion genius all over again in this beautiful Tom Ford number. As much as I love her ensemble, I wish she had done something different with her hair. I’m really not feeling the “I just put this up in the limo” low ponytail.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford

As to be expected, some red carpet stars stayed away from the not always flattering choice of white. While I’m usually a huge fan of gowns that pop with color, Kate Mara was one of my best-dressed picks in a more subtle hue. I absolutely love the delicateness of her beaded pink Elie Saab gown.

Kate Mara in Elie Saab

Natalie Portman is always one of my favorites, both in films and in style. She channeled old-Hollywood, which is so often forgotten or never done right, in a vintage 1954 Haute Couture Christan Dior gown. Her entire look was flawless, from her hair right down to the gorgeous Harry Winston necklace.

Natalie Portman in Vintage Haute Couture Christian Dior

To me, this is more than just a black dress. Bridesmaids’ Rose Byrne looked beautiful in a sparkly Vivenne Westwood piece last night. The gown is retro-classic with a bit of flare, and I’m also loving her sick Jimmy Choo platforms.

Rose Byrne in Vivienne Westwood

Michelle Williams chose the perfect dress with this Louis Vuitton number, which looked flattering on her petite figure. I like that she paired it with minimal jewelry, including the adorable bow pin on her waist. If only everyone could look as effortlessly chic.

Michelle Williams in Louis Vuitton

And then there were the worst…

While many fashion choices made it to my top picks, some stars just didn’t look their best. I expected at least one celebrity to screw up, but I was a surprised by those who I considered to be the night’s worst-dressed.

Please don’t get me wrong, because the color of Emma Stone’s Giambattista Valli is beautiful. But I’m not loving the over-the-top neck tie, which is all too reminiscent of Nicole Kidman’s 2007 Balenciaga choice. At least Nicole did it right.

Emma Stone in Giambattista Valli

This Marina Rinaldi was in no way flattering on Melissa McCarthy. She could’ve done so much better, like with her pick for this year’s Emmy awards.

Melissa McCarthy in Marina Rinaldi

Cameron Diaz’s hair looked like a hot mess. Though she pulled off this easy bob in the 90’s, the style just makes her look older than she is now. Cameron’s body is undeniably ripped, but I don’t think this Gucci gown was a good look for her muscular arms. Maybe I’m just jealous of her tone…

Cameron Diaz in Gucci

Her date was hot but her dress wasn’t. I’m sorry to say that I didn’t love Stacy Keibler’s Marchesa gown, and I can’t put my finger on exactly why. Just no.

George Clooney and Stacy Keibler in Marchesa

And lastly, Penelope, I really hope you didn’t cut your hair. The Giorgio Armani gown made her look way too matronly, which usually isn’t her style. She tried for old-Hollywood but sadly didn’t succeed.

Penelope Cruz in Giorgio Armani

Okay, enough bitching. So many celebs to criticize and so little time. Even though the 2012 Oscars are over, the fashion and beauty wrap-ups of Hollywood’s big night are only just beginning. I can’t wait to see the fashion inspired by last night’s looks, from nail colors and hair trends to the makeup looks that wowed.

2 responses to “The Oscars Edition

What do you think?

