Eyebrows Matter

Because tweezing scarred me the first time I tried it, I’ve had my eyebrows waxed at the salon ever since. It’s the beauty regimen I dread most, and probably for the mere fact that I don’t trust hot wax near my eyelids. Lucky for me, full and more au-natural brow shapes are in style right now, which spares me from at least a little pain at the salon. And I’m not referring to Frida Kahlo, or any other person with a unibrow, because that will never be okay. Thick or thin, just think about what you’d look like if you didn’t have them, and I bet you’ll agree that I’m actually not crazy for writing about eyebrows.

Whether or not you want to face the facts, the shape of your brows is super important. Properly groomed brows distinguish and flatter your face shape, as well as frame your eyes. Trends are constantly recycled, and perhaps that’s why fuller eyebrows have reentered the style spectrum. Back in the day, Audrey Hepburn and other beauties of her era flaunted more prominent eyebrow shapes with dramatic and fabulously fuller arches.

Grace Kelly


Audrey Hepburn


Elizabeth Taylor

If you weren’t blessed with naturally fuller brows, creating the illusion of a stronger shape takes a little extra work. That’s why someone genius created eyebrow pencils, with a top pick being ybf Beauty’s Automatic Universal Taupe Eyebrow Pencil. This popular product is versatile enough to be used on any color brow, and even includes its own defining brush. Birchbox offers a great tutorial on how to achieve fuller and better brows with this tool. To make your look last, eyebrow gel is another crucial product. I’m a fan of Anastasia Beverly Hills’ Clear Brow Gel, which is another best-seller in the beauty market.

Flash forward to the most glamorous night in Hollywood this year, where starlets were spotted with full brows that channeled past style icons. Rooney Mara and Michelle Williams flaunted red carpet-worthy brows, along with fellow Oscars attendee Emma Stone. Joey Healy, NYC-based eyebrow extraordinaire, raved that “Michelle Williams must have spent her entire week with Marilyn channeling those stunning eyebrows.”



Though it might take a little more effort, you’ll look like a style icon in your own right with gorgeously fuller eyebrows. Trust me…and the brow experts.

5 responses to “Eyebrows Matter

  1. Didn’t realize how much of a difference eyebrows made until I got mine threaded. The result was much nicer than when I got them waxed.

  2. Pingback: The Flossy Life | Joey Healy·

What do you think?

