Bright Eyes

Normal or not, I have a habit of trying out different makeup products on a more than regular basis. Of course my tried and true picks will never grow old, but I sometimes like to experiment with cosmetic items that stray from my normal routine. A nostalgic moment sparked during a recent trip to Bluemercury when I found myself drawn to colored mascaras. After spotting a display dedicated to this product in bright hues, I remembered my Mother sporting blue mascara at one point during my chic childhood. And don’t cry heinous yet, because I’ll argue that colored mascara is actually still cool.

Black and brown mascaras are just so typical. Maybe that’s why I went on to purchase Estee Lauder’s Illusionist Mascara in blue. I decided on this particular one not just for its pretty color, but also because it’s water resistant and extra long-wear. Such a life-changing decision.

refinery29.com

As with any makeup trend, it’s true that bright mascaras can easily be screwed up by the applicant. Don’t choose a matchy-matchy color palette, à la sporting blue eyeshadow, liner, and mascara. If you decide to wear a bright mascara, pair it with neutral shadows and a light blush. Then there’s extra room to go a little wild with your lip color, though I tend to prefer soft pink or nude hues. If you’re hesitant to even try a bright mascara, layer the color on top of your regular mascara first to keep the shock level low.

Though I purchased the blue tint, I also love the look of purple mascara. This color is great for spring, and I love that the hue can easily transition from day to night.

casual

dramatic


Brighten your eyes with these picks:

$30 Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils Luxurious Mascara in Violet


$24.50 Dior 'Diorshow' Unlimited Mascara in Azure Blue


$19 Benefit BadGal Lash in Plum


$29.50 Lancôme 'Définicils Precious Cells' Mascara in Emerald Glimmer

What do you think?

