Vanity Voyeur

My friend’s vanity holds the key to many fabulous beauty products, and I’m happy to report that I’ve stumbled across more than a few. After my last trip to New York, here’s what I’m loving in the beauty world:

1. Jurlique Body Exfoliating Gel

$40 Jurlique Body Exfoliating Gel


With warmer weather just around the corner, smooth, exfoliated skin is becoming that much more important. I stole borrowed a tiny sample from my friend’s shower and was pleasantly surprised by the results. It smells fresh without exuding an overly perfumed scent, and the generous bottle size will keep you good to go for a while. This magic potion consists of walnut-shell powder, witch hazel, rosemary, and tea tree oil, among other natural ingredients.

2. Jurlique Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer

$15 Jurlique Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer


Cheers to Jurlique! All of the products I’ve tried from this Australian-based skin care company have been amazing. Along with other cosmetic treasures, my friend keeps this particular cleanser on her vanity. It’s perfect to include in your beauty regimen, too, by sanitizing your hands with a pump before any makeup application. This product smells super fresh-a far cry from hand sanitizers that reek of alcohol-and also dries quickly. If you’re hesitant to try it, a travel size option is available for $6.50 here. It’s worth the price, I swear!

3. Pssssst Instant Spray Shampoo

$5.99 Pssssst Instant Dry Shampoo


Sometimes dry shampoos freak me out. Maybe it’s a weird quirk, but I’ve never really used them. After sampling a travel size, I’ve decided that I actually like the results of Pssssst Instant Spray Shampoo. It adds the perfect amount of volume to oily hair like mine, especially when there’s no time for a personal wash and style. I can spare the $5.99 since that particular scenario happens way too often.

4. Wet n Wild Megalast Lip Color

Don’t Blink Pink, Pinkerbell, Dollhouse Pink


In a pile stacked high of beauty products, I somehow discovered fab new lip shades from Wet n Wild’s Mega Last Lip Color line. My friend offered up shades of pink, red, and orange that just screamed SPRING. I opted to try “Dollhouse Pink,” which looks Barbie-esque with its cool, bubblegum hue, as well as a warmer shade via “Don’t Blink Pink.”

(on right) Wearing Wet n Wild MegaLast Lip Color in "Don't Blink Pink"


When each tube costs only $1.99, why not splurge on a few? Lasting at least four hours each wear, these brand-new shades are available for purchase at your local drugstore.

5. Too Faced Retractable Bronze-Buki Brush

I’ve already professed my love for Too Faced’s Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder, and now it’s only fair to give credit where it’s due. With brush hairs that layer powder evenly and a convenient retractable feature, this brand’s Bronze-Buki Brush is the perfect partner for my favorite bronzer. My friend keeps this beauty tool atop her vanity, where it sits cutely in its pink container.

$34 Too Faced Retractable Bronze-Buki Brush

When I want a no-frills, honest opinion about a beauty product (or five), I run to the people that will speak the truth. Isn’t that what friends are for?

What do you think?

