Bow Talk

I vividly remember the dramatic fits I pitched when my aunt would style my hair as a child. Of course I asked for the pain, which was only endured to imitate my older cousin’s swank and fashionable braids. I always cried until my perfect little style was completed too, hair accessory and all.

From butterfly clips (yes, I’m serious) to headbands and barrettes, hair accessories prove to be one of my favorite style pastimes. I recently recalled a super-stylish summer when I sported handmade cotton kerchiefs on my head, even through the sweltering 90 degree days. Probably wasn’t such a good look for me.

Bows were another favorite of mine. An accessory that’s actually popular again, they’re chicer than any of the kerchiefs of my past. With a clean, sleek bun and an adorable outfit to match, Lacey of A Lacey Perspective shows how bows can work in this day and age.

alaceyperspective.com

I’ve spotted hair accessories much like Lacey’s at Anthropologie, Topshop, and H&M. Try out this feminine look with a bow-inspired headband or small, decorative bobby pins. Isn’t everything better with a bow on top?

$4.50 Claire's Bow Pop Hair Pins


$18 ban.do Spotted Chiffon Bow


$7.16 ASOS Leopard Bow Ponio Hair Band

$9.80 LC Lauren Conrad Crystal Bow Bobby Pin Set


$32.23 Johnny Loves Rosie Stripe Knot Slide


$8.99 Gap Grosgrain Bow Headband


$5 Rachel Riley Damask Bow Barrette

4 responses to “Bow Talk

  1. I loved wearing bows as a child too. Mine were generally overwhelmingly large and floppy (thanks to my mother). I really like the Rachel Riley bow you featured.

What do you think?

