Crop Top Chit Chat

Oh the crop top; I just can’t figure you out. Never one in favor of showing too much skin, the style intimidates me a bit – but I’m also definitely intrigued. This crop top look I speak of proves to be a tricky little number, especially since I’m not a fan of anything that outwardly looks like a bra. I’m talking about bustiers…not really something I die for.

But if you do decide to bite the bullet on this, a crop top has the potential to look super chic. I love this look on Selena Gomez, Miley Cyrus, and Katy Perry, all of whom styled their crop tops for events. Fun, fancy, or fashion-forward, this style seems to offer an endless array of options.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Spring 2012 Pucci

If only we could all look as amazing as GOOP, another formal crop top supporter. I obvi wish I could. But alas, even if you aren’t strutting down a red carpet on the reg, crop tops can still be pulled off casually. And it’s probably easier that way. A few street-style examples, shall we?



I think it’s safe to say that pairing crop tops with high-waisted pieces, be it a skirt, pants, or even shorts, is your best bet. It will flatter you rather than make you look like an eighties transplant, and I’m guessing you’d rather go with the first option. Crop tops are also great to layer, too.

What do you think about the crop top? Love it or leave it? Trend or trash? Okay, I’ll stop now.

4 responses to “Crop Top Chit Chat

What do you think?

