A Cuter Commute

On a recent walk home from the train station, I spotted two different girls who were both pretty well-dressed. As I trekked past in the opposite direction, I thought to myself how much I liked their outfits. And then my eyes shifted down to their shoes.

Both of them were sporting Sperry’s, a style that just doesn’t flow unless you’re on a boat. I unsuccessfully tried to take back my previous compliment, all the while hoping that they’d change their shoes before heading anywhere actually important. Sorry, but not so chic.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; in my perfect world, I’d live in flat shoes. But being the 5 foot person that I am, sometimes I need a wedge heel in my life. I never wear any type of heel to the office, and it’s likely that the girls’ Sperry choices were hopefully only chosen to commute. I get it, so I’ll spare them a little slack.

When you’re, too, stuck in a world where closed-toe shoes or boring pumps are the norm, it’s still easy to make your commute or social life cuter. Instead of boating shoes, try these flat must-have sandals:

$355 Tibi Stella Colorblock Flat Sandals

$69 Dolce Vita DV Archer Flat Sandals

$55 Miss Trish Smooch Flip Flops

$235 Rachel Zoe Gladys Flat Sandals

$65 Sam Edelman Gigi T Strap Sandals


$198 Twelfth St. by Cynthia Vincent Love Embroidered Thong Sandals

$575 Lanvin Satin Bow Espadrille Sandals

$298 Stuart Weitzman Cordy Colorblock Flat Sandals

$225 Ancient Greek Amphitrite Sandals

And don’t forget to get a pedicure.

3 responses to “A Cuter Commute

What do you think?

