Beauty and the Heat

Or is there even such a combination? Ah, yes it’s true; beauty and heat can exist in unison. That’s why I’m talking about the beauty products that save me in each of their own little ways from the blistering, sweltering, HOT, HOT heat outside. Also known as the weather that makes me second guess even showering in the mornings. I want to be joking but I’m not.

Sweat ain’t so pretty when you’re away from the gym. In an effort to be helpful, here are a few gems that can help you stay pretty in the too-high temps:

This.is.the.best.body.wash. Period. With salicylic acid to beat acne breakouts, this product has a clean scent that’s perfect for summer. I use it on a daily basis to prevent bod breakouts.

I don’t know why you wouldn’t but if you want to prevent acne on your face, Clarisonic’s Mia Skin Cleansing System is a must-have. I tried Olay’s similar product first before splurging but soon realized that nothing beats the Mia. This exfoliation tool is gentle enough to use 2x a day, and it’s great that you’re able to use the cleanser of your choice with it. My face, which is oily and acne-prone in the first place, has seen a measurable difference. Pores are known to clog more in the heat, and a Clarisonic Mia is the perfect combat to keep them clean.

This product by Bosley Professional Strength is a beauty lifesaver when you can’t wear a hat. It’s weightless and residue-free, combining the best ingredients to protect your scalp from nasty sunburns. I know I don’t want what-looks-like-dandruff-but-is-only-peeling all over my scalp this summer. No bueno.

Since I typically hate the smell of most hand sanitizers on the market, Jurlique’s pick stood apart as a nice change from the rest. It smells clean and fragrant, and it’s made without harsh chemicals that can irritate skin. There’s also a travel size of the product available, which is perfect for when I feel gross on the go outside.

And while I’m on the topic of Jurlique products, let me quickly introduce their brand new gel mask. Stick it in the fridge along with a cold beer and apply to tired skin after a day in the sun. It’s provides a burst of hydration with a light cooling sensation to refresh your complexion instantly. It’s kind of like a mini-spa treatment at home, which is perfect for lazy people such as moi.

No one wants to look worse than they already do by adding raccoon eyes to the list of summer beauty woes. A quick fix to prevent this unattractive issue is a fab waterproof mascara. I’ve been using Lancôme Définicils for a while, and I have to say I really like it. While I usually switch between a few different mascaras, this product doesn’t clump and stays put through the often-unbearable humidity. And that’s definitely a winner in my beauty book.
What do you think?

