Shower Staples

I don’t operate a hostel, but my shower’s products have been praised by others more than once. And I actually accept these compliments every time from friends who’ve used my facilities. As much as I love to try new cosmetics, the products that are tried and true are what I consistently buy, use, and recommend to others. So I thought I’d take a moment to share the hype, straight from my small bathroom.
.
Face first: I’m a strong promoter of Neutrogena’s Deep Clean Cream Cleanser. It leaves my skin feeling refreshed and c-l-e-a-n, which is especially nice when I wake up in the morning. It’s also oil-free, and that’s another important feature for acne-prone skin like mine.

.

photo(63)

.
Speaking of promoting, I’ll gladly tell anyone about the Clarisonic Mia; a more convenient way to get spa-like facial results. I use the tool once a day, and it always leaves my face feeling smooth and soft. A little fact? The Mia cleanses 6x better than with your hands alone in just 60 seconds. It’s definitely worth the investment, and they’re available in different colors and patterns to make the splurge even more fun.
.
But I hate washing my hair, though the products I use make up for the inconvenience as much as possible. Bumble and bumble’s Gentle Shampoo is perfect for chemically processed, color-treated hair. Taking after its name, it gently cleanses, moisturizes, and adds shine. I then follow with Kiehl’s Amino Acid Conditioner, another mild product that adds a light coconut scent and imparts more moisture, helping me to avoid a dried-out ‘do.
.

photo(62)

.
However, pampering products – à la body washes and scents – are some of my favorite things in life. Another Kiehl’s product, the Musk Shower Gel is awesome and perfect for special occasions. Its unique scent pairs well with other perfumes, though I actually own the perfume version, too. For everyday use, I like Neutrogena’s Pink Grapefruit Body Clear Body Wash. Geared to prevent breakouts, it’s also a great addition to your gym bag.
.

photo-3

I clearly like to have different choices available at any given moment, so here’s another for my list. Its duel use spanning from baths to showers, Bliss’ Blood Orange+White Pepper Soapy Suds is another fantastic option. I’ve always loved the crisp smell of oranges, and the hint white pepper adds a bit of zest. And as for the dreaded topic of shaving, I’ve converted from gels to Aubrey Organics’ Créme da la Shave. I use the toasted almond flavor, but it’s also available in a variety of other scents.
.
Though they shouldn’t be used as frequently, exfoliation products do directly connect with the above recommendations. The cold winter weather means dry and drier skin, so it’s important to remove what’s dead and unhealthy.
.

photo-4

For lip exfoliation, I love Bluemercury’s M61 + Sara Happ limited edition Lemon, Mint, & Cucumber scrub. It’s especially beneficial if you frequently wear lipstick, as it helps to overcome the less-than-stellar effects of chapped lips. I’ve also heard that Sara Happ’s Peppermint Lip Scrub is fabulous. But since this product obviously can’t be used all over, I’m stuck between Jurlique’s Body Exfoliating Gel and Kiehl’s Grapefruit Gentle Exfoliating Body Scrub. They both smell great and get the exfoliating job done.
.
So now that we’re finished with that…what are your shower staples? Are there any that we share?
.
One response to “Shower Staples

What do you think?

