Scent Sensations

It’s funny – and also kind of weird – how certain scents instantly connect you with past places and times. I remember Clinique Happy being my first perfume in fifth grade, when I believed that finding a signature fragrance was vital to my adolescent growth. Eighth grade soon rolled around and Tommy Girl did too, which obviously rivaled all of my friends’ Bath & Body Works scents. If I catch a whiff of Sweet Pea or Warm Vanilla Sugar, it’s like I’m automatically transported to an awkward cafeteria dance.
.
High school came along and so did a few new fragrances. Though I’d like to forget, I did entertain some celebrity-endorsed perfumes, including those of Britney Spears and Paris Hilton. The latter was definitely inspired by The Simple Life but, alas, I redeemed myself with a dose of Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue. I think I could add Daisy by Marc Jacobs as another saving grace.
.
And then there are the times when scents trigger memories that are actually worth remembering, or at least thinking of every once in a while.
.

Presentation1

My friend in New York swears by Chanel Coco Mademoiselle, and the classic scent reminds me of her vanity – and getting ready for time out in the city.
.

Presentation1

I packed Jo Malone Earl Grey & Cucumber along for London, and I now associate it with everything UK.
.

Presentation1

Bond No. 9 Fire Island always takes me to the beach and returning to Atlantis would be super nice right about now.
.

Presentation1

I was in a major Chloé phase when Pete first entered my life. From our very first photo together – and perhaps his first whiff – I feel confident that he knew we were meant to be.
.
Are there any fragrances that you connect with a memory? Embarrassing/unchic or not, I’d love to hear!
.
One response to “Scent Sensations

  1. Gucci Envy Me! At first I loved it because I thought the same was unreal but I keep going back to it-it’s the best!!

    Good post! Happy Valentine’s Day!!

What do you think?

