Shopping and Swapping

I suffer from fashion separation anxiety, and I have an odd relationship with certain pieces in my wardrobe. I just can’t bring myself to donate or consign specific things. I don’t think I’m the only one who suffers from this issue…right?
.
My closet is full of a variety of brands, with many of my basics being steals. But then there are the items that I mentioned before; the ones to which I just can’t bid goodbye. It’s often the more expensive items, from the Halston Heritage skirt purchased on a bad-day whim to the still half size too-big Jimmy Choo snakeskin heels. I must not be able to shake my original obsessions that led me to the register in the first place.
.
Alas, all closets must be cleaned of things that fill wasted space – even my own. I like to purge my wardrobe at least twice a year; a process that is somehow simultaneously therapeutic and tedious. If there’s one thing I’ve learned this time around, it’s that my shoe collection has spun out of control…
.

Presentation5

Over the past few weeks, I’ve organized my wardrobe space and taken ample time to part with those things that I just don’t need. I’ve also made a list of items that would be nice to add to to my collection, like a neutral tan bag. That’s why I’m excited to attend Swap in the City, an event presented on Thursday, May 9 by SNOBSWAP and Dewdrop.

SwapCityInvite4.4.2013

.
This event will be such a fun alternative to consignment. I can choose three designer items from from my recent wardrobe cleanse – be it tops, bottoms, dresses, jackets, shoes, handbags and/or accessories – to swap. Though it’s not required to bring anything at all, this will be a fantastic opportunity to clear my space in exchange for things that are on my needed list. Even if my items aren’t successfully swapped, they certainly won’t be going to waste, as all remaining clothing will be donated to the Goodwill of Greater Washington.
.
If you’re in the mood to clean out your closet or already have, grab three items and join in on the fun tomorrow night at 1776 DC. Other pop-up shops and fashion start-ups will be there too, like TARI, Via Gypset, Ava Anderson Non-Toxic, and Twice as Warm. Your ticket(s) can be purchased at a discount here, and it will be $25 at the door. This event benefits the work of Becky’s Fund, a non-profit that’s passionate about the fight against domestic violence.
.
Not a local, or are you simply unable to attend? I’d love to hear what you think of fashion swaps; this will be my first one!
.
What do you think?

